DSWA Upcoming Events Schedule


The Delaware Solid Waste Authority is proud to host special events throughout the year. These events include, Household Hazardous Waste Collection, Electronic Goods Recycling, Paper Shredding and Educational Outreach. Below you will find a schedule of the most recent upcoming events.

Household Hazardous Waste/Electronic Goods/Paper Shredding

Household Hazardous Waste/Electronic Goods/Paper Shredding

Household Hazardous Waste/Electronic Goods/Paper Shredding

Electronic Goods/Paper Shredding

Household Hazardous Waste/Electronic Goods/Paper Shredding


Electronic Goods Recycling Program Changes


Beginning Monday, September 8 electronics waste will only be collected on specific days at select facilities. DSWA will also pair the electronics collection with household hazardous waste collection on the same days and at the same facilities. The weekly collections will be held as follows from 10am-2pm:

Monday-Jones Crossroads Landfill (Sussex County)

Wednesday- Delaware Recycling Center (New Castle County)

Friday- Cheswold Collection Station (Kent County)

In addition, to further help meet the demand of electronics recycling in 2015 DSWA will add extra Saturday collection events.

Businesses with Electronics Waste to recycle should contact:
ECOvanta, LLC
2209 South 58th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19413
Phone- 215-921-7508

For more information please contact the Citizens' Response Line at 1-800-404-7080



The Delaware Solid Waste Authority (DSWA) is excited to announce a special event for the collection and recycling of latex paint. The event will be held on September 13, 2014 from 8am-4pm at the Cheswold Collection Station located on Fork Branch Road in Cheswold. Latex (water based) paint will be the only material collected at this event. Residents can bring their latex paint to the event in a quart, gallon or 5 gallon metal or plastic containers. This event is restricted to Delaware resident’s only, no commercial services. The event will be held rain or shine.

DSWA will be partnering with GDB International Inc. to provide this free event to Delaware residents. GBD is one of the largest recyclers of post-consumer paint. They handle approximately 8,000 gallons of latex paint daily. Paint collected by GBD is recycled and then marketed under their own brands, export to partners in 64 countries and also used for graffiti abatement programs.

About 90 percent of paint sold in the United States is latex paint and on average, the typical household has 3-5 containers of leftover latex paint in storage. This special event will give Delaware residents an opportunity to get rid of unwanted latex paint in an easy manner.

For more questions about this event or information on other DSWA collection events please contact the Citizens’ Response Line at 1-800-404-7080.


Ribbon Cutting Ceremony - Green Energy at DSWA Central Solid Waste Management Center
Ribbon Cutting Ceremony - Green Energy at DSWA Central Solid Waste Management Center

On Tuesday, May 20, 2014, DSWA celebrated a 2-MW expansion of the green energy plant located at the Central Solid Waste Management Center (CSWMC). The celebration included remarks from the Honorable Jack Markell, Governor of the State of Delaware; Colin O’Mara, Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources; George Sakellaris, CEO of Ameresco, Inc.; William Andrew, CEO of the Delaware Electric Cooperative; and Richard Watson, CEO of DSWA. The celebration concluded with a ceremonial Ribbon Cutting performed by Governor Markell and tours of the facility. The plant, which is owned and operated by Ameresco Delaware Energy, LLC (Ameresco), now includes five 1-MW GE Jenbacher engines which are fueled by landfill gas generated by the landfill at CSWMC. The electricity produced by the 2 new engines is being purchased by the Delaware Electric Cooperative (DEC). The engines will provide enough power to heat 1,200 homes annually, and are equivalent to reducing emissions from approximately 3,000 passenger cars. The partnership between DSWA, Ameresco, and DEC benefits the local Delaware community through the use of this previously untapped resource to both generate and distribute green energy in Delaware.


DSWA CEO Announces Retirement, New Leadership Selected by Board of Directors

Pasquale S. (“Pat”) Canzano, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority (“DSWA”) for the past seven years recently informed the Board of Directors of his intention to retire, effective January 1, 2014. Mr. Canzano was hired by DSWA, as part of the original management structure, shortly after its creation 38 years ago. The Board accepted Mr. Canzano’s decision with mixed feelings, recognizing his extraordinary leadership service during the extended global economic struggles of the past six years combined with rapidly developing technological and business-model changes within the waste industry generally. At the same time, though missing him keenly, the Board wishes Mr. Canzano long, healthy, enjoyable and well-deserved retirement with his wife Joyce and their family.

With Mr. Canzano’s retirement, the Board is pleased to announce that following a rigorous internal process of solicitation and review, it has appointed DSWA’s current Chief Operating Officer (COO), Richard P. Watson to succeed Pat as the next CEO of the Authority, likewise effective January 1, 2014. A Delaware Registered Professional Engineer with a Master’s Degree in Engineering, Mr. Watson began his career with DSWA as an engineer in 1981, holding increasingly responsible positions ever since.

To complete the composition of DSWA’s new senior management leadership, the Board is delighted to announce its selection of Ms. Robin Roddy to succeed Mr. Watson as COO, also effective January 1, 2014. A Delaware Registered Professional Engineer, Ms. Roddy has been professionally employed with the Authority for 18 years and is currently the Senior Facility Manager of the Cherry Island Landfill.


more news »


Web Development & Design by Synergistic Designs
Copyright© 2008 Delaware Solid Waste Authority All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use