DSWA’s  Administrative Office is now located at 601 Energy Lane, Dover DE 19901 

Citizens’ Advisory Board

Home  »  About Us  »  Citizens’ Advisory Board

Citizens’ Advisory Board

Cherry Island Landfill Expansion

On January 6, 2006, the Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control (DNREC) issued Permit SW-06/01 to the Delaware Solid Waste Authority (DSWA) for the expansion of the Cherry Island Landfill (CIL). A condition of the Permit is the establishment of a Citizens Advisory Board (CAB) composed of residents who live north of the C & D Canal. The members of the CAB as set forth in the Permit are representatives selected by (a) the Senator representing the district adjacent to NSWMC-2 (currently Senatorial District #2); (b) the Representative representing the district adjacent to the NSWMC-2 (currently Representative District #2); (c) Wilmington City Council; (d) Wilmington Mayor’s office; (e) New Castle County Executive; (f) New Castle County Council Chair; and (g) the Governor of Delaware.

The CAB shall meet at least semi-annually and be responsible for establishing and abiding by a charter for providing advice to DSWA and related state agencies and private sector companies on issues related to the operation of the CIL, minimizing impacts resulting from landfill operations and capacity, the role of the CIL in the overall statewide Solid Waste Management Plan, and recycling and resource recovery options.

Members of the Cherry Island Landfill Citizens’ Advisory Board


Jaehn G. Tindley Dennis
New Castle County
Matthew Meyer , NCC Executive
Sandra Smithers
466 Bethune Drive
Wilmington, DE 19801
Governor’s Office
John Carney, Governor
Council Member Zanthia Oliver
Wilmington City Council
800 N. French St., 9th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801
Representing: Mr. Ernest “Trippi” Congo II., Council President 
Councilman Samuel L. Guy
Wilmington City Council
800 N. French St., 9th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801
Representative District #2
Representative Stephanie Bolden
Kelly A. Williams, Commissioner
Department of Public Works
800 N. French St.,
Wilmington, DE 19801
Wilmington Mayor’s Office
Michael S. Purzycki, Mayor
James Parker II
New Castle County Department of Community Services
Route 9 Farmers Market
New Castle, DE 19720
Representing: Senatorial District #2
Sen. Darius Brown
Vincent D’Anna
34 Scotch Pine Rd
Newark, DE 19711
New Castle County Chair
Karen Hartley-Nagle, Council President

The next meeting of The Citizens’ Advisory Board (CAB) will be on
April 4, 2023
Cherry Island Landfill

Citizens’ Advisory Board Meeting Minutes

2020 Meeting Minutes

2019 Meeting Minutes

2018 Meeting Minutes